New President and Vice-Presidents, Honorary President and Board Members

28 Jun 2024

Globethics Board of Foundation Elections 2024

Dietrich Werner

Dietrich Werner (Germany), most recently senior advisor at the international development agency Bread for the World, senior research fellow at Humboldt University, and Professor in Intercultural Theology, Ecumenism and Development Studies, has been unanimously elected as the incoming President of Globethics. He will succeed the current President, and Founder, of Globethics, Christoph Stückelberger (Switzerland) on 9 September 2024, when Professor Stückelberger will take up the title of Honorary President.

Commenting on his election, Dr Werner remarked that,

”I stand before you [the Board] with a sense of humbleness, also awe and respect for the enormous work this foundation has done already in past years and which lies ahead and for the confidence put in me. But I am filled also with a sense of determination and fresh commitment to accept this huge responsibility. I am convinced that this world desperately needs ethics and democracy, more ethically informed political decisions, credible and responsive leaders, academic teachers, CEOs and civil society activists to restore social cohesion within our fragmented societies, peace and human rights for all, in order to enable good governance and justice as well as better conditions for sustainability”.  

The international, nine-member Board of Foundation also elected two new Members at their meeting on 20 June 2024 – Marie-Laure Salles (France), Director of the Geneva Graduate Institute, and André Schneider (Switzerland), CEO of Geneva Airport – to take their seats on 1 September 2024. Divya Singh (South Africa), Chief Academic Officer and Senior Research Officer at Stadio Holdings’ Head Office, and Dicky Sofjan (Indonesia), Core Doctoral Faculty in the Indonesian Consortium for Religious Studies (ICRS), at the Graduate School of Universitas Gadjah Mada (UGM), are elected as first and second Vice-Presidents of the Board and Chairs of the Board Academic and Finance Committees respectively. Dr Singh replaces Rudolf von Sinner as Chair of the Academic Committee when his term ends on 31 December 2024.

The handover of the presidency takes place in the 20th anniversary year of Globethics during the Global Ethics Forum on Wednesday 4 September 2024.